Sonya’s Alaskan Cowboy Casserole

It’s moose hunting season in Alaska and while I haven’t gotten a moose so far this year, I am looking forward to the possibilities!! I love wild game because I know it doesn’t have any chemicals, was raised properly, and is very healthy for my family. Many Alaskan families live off of moose, caribou, and many other types of wild game. It is a way of life up here in Alaska.

I have made this recipe in so many different variations that I can make it in my sleep by now. This is a favorite dish for both of my sons. My daughter prefers it to be made quite a bit differently and I will post her variation at the bottom. What makes this dish special is that you can use any meat that you have available and even the toughest meat will tenderize and be delicious. For this variation, I have given the recipe as a moose meat dish but you could put any wild game or store bought meat (beef, pork, chicken, etc) into it. It is a must that you use a slow cooker/crock pot to cook the meat as the tenderness and the ability to shred the meat is needed. Enjoy!


Sonya’s Alaskan Cowboy Casserole

2-3 lb Moose Roast, trimmed
1 large bottle favorite BBQ sauce (we like Sweet Baby Ray’s)
1 medium onion, chopped in large chunks
Salt & Pepper
Cajun Seasoning, optional1 Recipe Cornbread Batter (either your own or box mix)

Directions:

1. Put the moose roast in the crock pot/slow cooker and season well with cajun seasoning, salt, and pepper. Sprinkle the onion over the meat and then top with 1/3 cup of the BBQ sauce.

2. Cover and set the crock pot to low and cook for 8 (+/-) hours. Low is better for optimal tenderness.

3. Turn off Crock Pot and let cool for 45 minutes to an hour. Take meat out of the crock pot and shred with two forks. Try to scoop the onions out of the meat juices in the crock pot and mix with the meat.

4. Preheat oven to temperature required for cornbread recipe. Make the cornbread batter and set aside.

5. Lightly grease a 13 X 9 casserole dish. Mix the remaining BBQ sauce with the meat until saucy and spread into the casserole dish.

6. Spread the top of the BBQ moose meat with the cornbread batter and place in preheated oven. Bake for the maximum time allotted for the cornbread recipe. Test the center of the cornbread to be sure it is cooked through before removing from oven. (Some cornbread recipes may take longer depending on the thickness.)


I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as my boys do. My daughter’s variation is to have it with biscuit dough dropped on the top instead of cornbread. She is not the biggest fan of cornbread, so when I make her variation I call it Alaskan Cowgirl Casserole! 😉 Other variations include adding cheese, beans, green chilies, green peppers, or corn to the meat layer. You could also just fry up some ground meat and skip the crock pot method altogether! Let me know what you think and what variation you have tried.

Hunting Moose bulls with legal rack

One thought on “Sonya’s Alaskan Cowboy Casserole

Leave a Reply

